It’s Never too late for a Reflection

Happy New Year Everyone!

tumblr_mofz5daEPJ1qixfalo1_500

Half of January has already passed and I’ve just finished my list of resolutions. There is no rule that states resolutions must be noted down or posted online on the first day of the year. And if it is a rule…well as much anti-hero protagonists say, “some rules are meant to be broken.” Also, I take a while to decide things.

And what did I decide to do this year differently?

  • Take care of my face:

I’m not going to buy new skincare products. I’m simply going to drink more water, sleep better, exercise, and eat better. More importantly, apply sunscreen on a daily basis.

  • Start learning kanji:

Kanji is the soul-sucking system of Japanese writing that uses Chinese characters. I’ve started, using a pdf I found online (if you want it I can email it to you so comment below), and it’s my goal to finish the textbook by the end of the year. For those who are interested in learning the language, I recommend learning these as early as possible because you don’t get very far without them. Plus after learning a few lessons, the characters aren’t as intimidating.

update: I’ve learned 100 characters!

  • Eat more berries

We all know berries are good for you. I know berries are godsends but only until last month did I realize I hardly eat any. It’s more difficult since I’m not a smoothie person. However, since 2016 began, I’ve found three simple ways to eat more berries that don’t require a blender.

  • Be more honest

That speaks for itself.

  • Do more urban sketching

I really enjoy drawing and scribbling and whatnot but there comes a time where I want to draw something new and I need references. At times I would use other artists’ tutorials and sure it would work in the short-term but then I watched a video about 10 mistakes beginners make. I’m not a beginner but that doesn’t mean I can’t learn from it. The point that struck me the most: to stop using other artworks as reference. That if I really wanted to improve I should “sketch” the world around me.


 

I took a nice vacation from this blog. Frankly I’m not sorry. Old me would be feeling guilty about it but it’s all good and I’m going to tell you why:

After reading A Tale For the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki, I started reading the famous 1984 by George Orwell. Although I set a goal to finish it in a months time, I was far from achieving it for various reasons thus plunging me into a writers block.

Moreover, I had registered for two courses that had an overwhelming amount of reading material. In the end, I was too exhausted to continue 1984 or engage in other leisure readings. The best part is that I learned a lot from those courses so I have no regrets.

I value quality over quantity. So there was no point of me forcing myself to create content I wouldn’t be satisfied with. Plus since I wasn’t reading anything I couldn’t really write about anything…

An important encounter!

So, one night I was walking home and I noticed there’s a tall, slender woman walking her dog, trying to dodge the sprinklers, up ahead and I managed to strike a conversation with her. She was friendly to me and the conversation soon lead to her telling me that her work revolved helping people with blogging software (more or less). So when I told her about my blog she was actually happy and encouraged me to keep going. Perfect timing… since I was actually considering quitting.

“It’s okay to take a break.”

I know. We all know. But it was very comforting to hear that. And after I told her good-bye I went on my blog for the first time in months and scanned a couple of recent posts, laughing at my amateur, almost horrible pictures.

I’m pretty sure experienced bloggers know this but new bloggers are springing up and its good to remind them that taking long breaks are not a sin. However, don’t take a very long break (unless you really have to) because the risk of not continuing increases the longer you to put your blog on hold.


I’d like to share some updates:

  • I’m almost done with reading 1984!
  • I’ve set my Goodreads 2016 goal of reading 24 books this year. To help me with that I’ve joined a Facebook group who have the same goal and aim to encourage each other to complete it.
  • I’m changing this blogs name to Mellowshellie’s Book Log. I identify with that name more that The Bubbly Bibliomanic. Plus T.B.B. started reminding me of tuberculosis and that just ruined it for me.

And finally, Congratulations Life As Told By Film for reaching your One Year Anniversary ! I’m so proud of you!

Hope you all have a wonderful year!

 

 

 

 

One thought on “It’s Never too late for a Reflection

Leave a Reply

